Symposium for Research Scholars – SYRES 2023 Jointly Organized by IEEE JCAME Pune Chapter

&

IEEE AP-S/MTT-S/EMC-S Hyderabad Chapter

Report

The joint chapter of AP, MTT and EMC (JCAME) and IEEE AP-S/MTT-S/EMC-S Hyderabad Chapter organized a National-level Symposium for Research Scholars (SYRES – 2023) working in the areas related to Communications.

The objective of the SYRES – 2023 was to provide a platform for PG and PhD scholars to share, learn and exchange experiences, ideas, and innovations in the discipline of Antenna, Microwave, EMI/EMC, and allied fields. Also, explore for possible collaborations and interact with peers working in similar fields.

The abstracts from the PG and PhD scholars were invited to submit their abstracts in prescribed format and register for participation in symposium. It was proposed to distribute award total prizes of worth Rs 25000/- and travel grant up to Rs 2500/- each to outstation IEEE member participants.

We received registrations from 10 PG scholars and 15 PhD scholars from various institutes from Hyderabad, Bengalure, Pune, Warangal etc. Preliminary screening was carried out and all the scholars were invited for the presentation on 28th October 2023 in physical mode conducted at Matrusri Engineering College, Hyderabad. Eleven PhD scholars and ten PG scholars reported to the symposium and presented their work in separate parallel sessions for PG and PhD scholars. Three judges for each category(PG & PhD) were invited to evaluate their work. Most of the judges invited were from DLRL/DRDO Hyderabad who have expertise and have been working in the field for a long time. The symposium was inaugurated by Dr Jahagirdar, outstanding scientist, DRDO, Hyderabad. He delivered a keynote speech on antenna applications for defense and space. Prof K P Ray delivered a keynote speech on Wireless Communications 5G, UWB and beyond as part of the valedictory session.

Following scholars were selected for the awards:

PhD Category

Name Of The Scholar	Name Of The Institute	Prize	Prize Money
Karad Kailash	Savitribai Phule Pune University	First	Rs 7000/-
Vaijinath			
Elagandula Aparna	National Institute Of Technology,	Second	Rs 5000/-
	Warangal		
Malleboboina Raju	Indian Institute Of Science, Bangalore	Consolation	Rs 1000/-
Malleboboina Raju Ajay Kumar Singh	Indian Institute Of Science, Bangalore Defence Institute Of Advanced	Consolation Consolation	Rs 1000/- Rs 1000/-
	Defence Institute Of Advanced		Rs 1000/-

PG Category

Name Of The Scholar	Name Of The Institute	Prize	Prize Money
Debaprasad Barad	Indian Institute Of Science, Bangalore	First	Rs 5000/-
Mohit Khobragade	Defence Institute Of Advanced	Second	Rs 3000/-
	Technology, Pune		
Sharma Jayesh	Defence Institute Of Advanced	Consolation	Rs 1000/-
	Technology, Pune		
Kummari Rajani	College Of Engineering, Osmania	Consolation	Rs 1000/-
	University, Hyderabad		

Few Glimpses of SYRES 2023



SYRES Poster at Matrusri Engineering College, Hyderabd



Inaugural Keynote Session by Dr Jahagirdar



PhD Session in Progress



Judges for PhD Category



PG Session in Progress



Judges for PG Category



Valedictory Keynote Address by Prof K P Ray