





San Diego Section

11:00 Reception
12:00 Banquet
13:00 Distinguished Visitor Talk
14:00 New Officer Installation
14:15 Awards Presentation



Our Venue La Gran Terraza, University of San Diego

Our Speaker Colin McAndrew, Bell Labs and NXP (retired) presents "Oops: Technical Bloopers of Good Engineers" Even good engineers make mistakes. We should always learn from such bloopers (both our own and those other people make) and strive to ensure not only that we do not repeat them, but also that we are alert for similar mistakes others may make. This talk will present some things you were taught in school that are in practice problematic. I give some examples of bloopers I have seen during my career. I show why you should pay attention to, and not just blindly use, public domain software. I also include recommendations for how you can improve the quality of your presentations and writing.

Our Special Thanks to Dr. Kathleen Kramer, USD, for making this event possible.

Our 2025 Officers

Chair Upal Mahbub Secretary Lai Xu Treasurer Hua Zhu Vice Chair Programs Vaishnav Srivinas Vice Chair Publicity Md Nafee Al Islam Members at Large Larry Hamerman, William Torre, Liangping Ma, Kathleen Kramer, Gabriel Alcala, Upkar Dhaliwal, Theresa Hache, and Bansi Patel Past Chair Michelle Thompson

Our Past Chairs

AIEE 1939 L.M. Klauber 1940 F.F. Evenson 1941 Walter L. Bryant 1942 Clem J. Nevitt 1944 Willis T. Johnson 1945 Willis Konline 1946 R.R. Ritchie 1947 Charles F. McCabe 1948 G.E. Jenner 1949 Herbert A. Cordes 1950 Joseph P. Sinnot 1951 J. Paul Conner 1952 Ormus L. Doolittle 1953 Aylmer H. Keith 1954 I.E. McDougal 1955 E.F. Kotnik 1956 E.B. Love 1957 B.A. Weiss 1958 L.L. LaZelle 1959 M.R. Marston 1960 J.W. Crooks, Jr. 1961 L.R. Knerr 1962 R.W. Kinslow 1963 Alvord Paull

IRE 1945 Edwin B.Robinson 1946 David C. Kalbfell 1947 Rawson Bennett 1948 Clyde Tirrell 1949 Louise G. Trolese 1950 Everett W. Thatcher 1951 John P. Day 1952 Victor Welge 1953 Chesney R. Moe 1954 William S. Ivans 1955 Francis X. Byrnes 1956 Robert A. Kirkman 1957 Edward J.Moore 1958 Allan H. Drayner 1959 Raymond J. Cary 1960 Robert E. Homer 1961 David G. DeHaas 1962 Edward W. Carlson IEEE 1963 Alvord Paull 1964 Kenneth O'Neal 1965 Fred W. Garrison 1966 Robert Hively 1967 William Davis 1968 Glen Eggen

1969 O. Everett Wiedmann 1970 Eric Herz 1971 Frank Martin 1972 Richard K. Walter 1973 Chuck Inskeep 1974 Charles M. Davis 1975 David E. Atkinson 1976 D.L. Knittel 1977 Robert C. Kolb 1978 Frederick G. Suffield 1979 Gary Dunsmore 1980 David Buck 1981 Joseph Birney, 1982 Carl F. Gerle, Jr. 1983 Harlan Faller 1984 Kesh Bakhru 1985 Peter Lanner 1986 F.J.M. Sullivan 1987 Larry Hamerman 1988-89 Michael Aronstein 1989-90 Richard Milligan 1990-91 James Bussert

1992-93 Robert Lobbia 1994 Cathy Quick 1995 Hana Abu Salem 1996 Ken Kalbfell 1997 Jim Walker 1998 Steve Adamson 1999 Fred Harris 2000 Stephen Stubberud 2001 Christine Williams 2002 Kathleen Kramer 2003 David Bernardin 2004 Steve Adamson 2005-06 Terry Hache 2007 Anthony Spurgin 2008 Ram Parameswaran 2009-10 Mark Frankfurth 2011-12 Xun Luo 2013-14 Steve Smiley 2015-16 Upkar Dhaliwal 2017-18 Gabriel Alcala 2019-20 Kathy Herring Hayashi 2021 Zhensheng Zhang 2022-25 Michelle Thompson

2025 Honorees

Chapter, Section, and Affinity Group Service

Lei Sun	Distinguished Service provided to Vehicular Technology Society Chapter
Greg Laugle	Distinguished Service provided to Oceanic Engineering Society Chapter
Zhensheng Zhang	Distinguished Service provided to San Diego Section
Pirazh Khorramshahi	Distinguished Service provided to Computer Society Chapter
Jeff Shi	Distinguished Service provided to The Big Chapter
Valeri Paul	Distinguished Service provided to Women in Engineering Affinity Group
Hassan Ghoudjehbaklou	Willingness to Serve Chapters and Section
Bill Torre	Willingness to Serve in the reorganization of the Life Members Affinity Group
Terry Hache	Distinguished Service in Section Communications and Outreach
Hua Zhu	Distinguished Service provided to the San Diego Section

Community Service

ATEC	Outstanding Community Service
Gabe Alcala	Community Service, Distinguished Service provided to the San Diego Section.
Qualcomm	Outstanding Community Service
Nancy Trevellyan	Community Service provided to the San Diego Section
Debra Kimberling	Community Service provided to the San Diego Section

Student Service

Vaishnav Srinivas	
Mustahsin Zarif	
Jonathan Zhou	
John Cizin	
Nandu Koripally	
David Ramos	
Jacob Butcher	

San Diego Section, Service to Students UCSD, Distinguished Service UCSD, Distinguished Service USD, Phoenix Award SDSU, Phoenix Award SDSU, Phoenix Award SDSU, Phoenix Award

Below, San Diego IEEE members enjoy a day at the Del Mar Electronics and Manufacturing Show.





Year at a Glance

We saw an increase in memberships in all Chapters. We saw an increase in activity for all Chapters. We had 266 events in 2024, compared to 88 in 2023. When student events are included, the event total is well over 300.

We could not have done this without our many volunteers. Thank you for your time and effort. We would not have such an active and successful Section without your hard work and dedication.