2019 IEEE Green Mountain Section Awards Dinner and Annual Meeting


IEEE Green Mountain Section Awards Dinner and Annual Meeting to be held at UVM Davis Center.  The purpose of this annual meeting is to acknowledge engineering achievements in the Green Mountain Section as well as an opportunity for members to network.   IEEE members and guests are welcome.

In addition, we will have a fantastic panel discussion on Renewables in VT moderated by John Cohn with Panelists Mads Almassalkhi, James Gibbons, Chris Root, Graham Turk, and Lincoln Sprague.

John Cohn will have a demonstration table called “AI for the heck of it".   There will also be exhibits by the UVM Student Chapter and the NATW (North Atlantic Testing Workshop).


 ********* Public Parking is free in the Jeffords Lot after 3:30 pm.   Jeffords Lot is the 1st left on East Ave when taken from Main St.  *********


2019 Award Recipients for IEEE Green Mountain Section

Chapter Officer of the Year Award  --- Joshua Burroughs

Undergraduate Student of the Year Award --- Tim Laracy 

Graduate Student of the Year Award --- Nawaf Nazir

Graduate Student of the Year Award --- Samaduti Brahma

Faculty of the Year Award --- Mads Almassalkhi

Engineer of the Year Award --- Mustapha Slamani 

Innovator of the Year Award --- Hamid Ossareh


2019 Award Recipients for IEEE Green Mountain Section Power and Energy Chapter

Outstanding Engineering Award (>15 years of service):  Frank Stacom

Outstanding Young Professional Engineering Award (<15 years of service):  Mads Almassalkhi

Outstanding Volunteer Award:  Bernadette Fernandes

Outstanding Graduate Student Award:  Adil Khurram









  Date and Time




  • 590 Main Street
  • Burlington, Vermont
  • United States 05401
  • Building: UVM Davis Center
  • Room Number: Livak Ballroom

Staticmap?size=250x200&sensor=false&zoom=14&markers=44.4759794%2c 73
  • Starts 17 June 2019 12:00 PM
  • Ends 14 October 2019 12:00 PM
  • All times are US/Eastern
  • No Admission Charge
  • Register


Moderator and Panelists


Renewables in Vermont Panel Discussion: Moderator and Panelists Bios


John Cohn – Moderator

John Cohn is an IBM Fellow in the MIT-IBM Watson AI Research Group based in Cambridge, MA. John earned a BSEE from MIT (’81) and a Ph.D in Computer Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University (‘91) where he was named a Distinguished Alumni in 2014. John has authored more than 30 technical papers, contributed to four books and has ~120 worldwide patents. In 2005 John was elected a Fellow of the IEEE. John is active in education issues at a local, state and national level. In 2019 John was awarded the IEEE CAS John Choma Education award for his efforts at STEM promotion. He is so passionate about promoting STEM careers that he spent 59 days living and inventing in an abandoned steel mill as part of Discovery Channel's technical survival show "The Colony". John lives with his family in a restored 19th century schoolhouse in Jonesville Vermont and is eager to share his love of science and technology with anyone who will listen.

Mads Almassalkhi - Panelist

Dr. Mads Almassalkhi is an Assistant Professor in Electrical and Engineering at the University of Vermont and co-founder of startup Packetized Energy Technologies, Inc.. His research interests lie at the intersection of power systems, mathematical optimization, and control systems and focus on developing scalable control methods that improve responsiveness and resilience of power systems. He currently manages several large multi-institution projects funded by DOE and ARPA-E. Prior to joining the University of Vermont, he was lead systems engineer at another energy startup company Root3 Technologies and developed optimization software for physical plants.

James Gibbons - Panelist

James Gibbons is the Director of Policy and Planning for the Burlington Electric Department where he has worked since 2008. At BED, James and his team oversee power supply, long-range planning, regulatory interactions, and renewable energy certificate trading.  James was instrumental in BED’s transition to sourcing 100% of its energy needs from renewable generation, an achievement for which BED has received significant recognition. Prior to 2008, James worked at the Vermont Public Power Supply Authority for 18 years in a number of roles, lastly as the Manager of Power Supply.

Chris Root - Panelist

Chris Root is the Chief Operating Officer for Vermont Electric Power Company. He is responsible for the engineering, construction and operation of the transmission system in the state of Vermont. Chris has over 35 years of utility operations and engineering leadership experience. Previously, he was the Senior Vice President of Network Strategy at National Grid USA responsible for engineering and asset management of the electric and gas networks in the US. Chris has been the elected Treasurer, Secretary and Member at Large of the IEEE Power and Energy Society Governing Board. He has been member of the North American Transmission Forum Board of Directors and is on the Executive Committee of the US National CIGRE Committee. He is on the Editorial Board of the Power and Energy Magazine.

Lincoln Sprague - Panelist

Lincoln is an electrical engineer responsible for the design, test, and certification of utility scale inverters and DC-DC converters used in grid-tied energy storage applications. He’s a member of the IEEE 1547.1 working group tasked with creating test procedures for the recently revised (and substantially expanded) North American Grid Code IEEE 1547-2018. Lincoln serves as treasurer and secretary of the IEEE Power and Energy Society Green Mountain Chapter.

Graham Turk - Panelist

Graham Turk is a member of the Innovation Development team at Green Mountain Power (GMP). His work involves designing and executing innovative pilot projects in areas such as electric vehicle charging, energy storage, and other flexible loads. These efforts contribute to GMP’s larger mission to transform our energy system into one that is more distributed, carbon-free, and community-centered, while reducing costs and increasing reliability for customers. Graham holds a bachelor's degree from Princeton University in computer science and completed a Fulbright grant in Sweden on peer-to-peer solar energy markets.



5:30       Networking and Cash bar

6:00       Buffet Dinner

6:30       Award Presentations

7:00       Panel Discussion - Renewables in Vermont, moderated by John Cohn

8:00       Additional networking

9:00       Event End