IEEE Day 2018


IEEE London Section is inviting you to celebrate IEEE Day 2018, a day commemorating the first time IEEE members gathered to share their technical ideas in 1884.

We are celebrating the 134th birthday of IEEE organization. Come join us and meet London’s active IEEE student branches and affinity groups, check out their exciting projects and activities, and listen to successful IEEE members from academia and industry sharing their experiences.


We will have the honor to have Murray MacDonald, IEEE Central Area Chair presenting about the history of IEEE and the membership services and benefits

Followed by a panel discussion on "Leveraging Technology for Better Tomorrow" for our event and our invited panelists are:

  • Dr. Maike Luiken, President of IEEE Canada
  • Dr. Ana Luisa Trejos, IEEE WIE Vice chair, London Section
  • Dr. Marlys Koschinsky, Director of Robarts research institute

This Event is Free and Open for all students, young professionals, and IEEE members.

It offers a unique opportunity to expand your social and professional network, and get involved in your local IEEE section, while enjoying free food and soft drinks. 

This event is co-hosted by:  Women in EngineeringStudent Branch, Computer Society, Young ProfessionalsCommunication and Broadcast chapter and Power and Energy Society

Where: HSB 236, Health Science Building, Western University

When: Monday, October 15, 2018, 17:00 to 18:30

Admission: Free for all interested students, professionals & IEEE members

Everyone (Women and Men) is welcome.

Admission is free.

Pizza, soft drinks and refreshments will be provided

This program includes presentations, panel discussion and opportunity for socializing.

Also prizes will be provided to activity winners during IEEE day program.


Maike Luiken is the IEEE Canada President-Elect 2016-2017 and will serve as the IEEE Canada President 2018-2019. She was the past founding director of the Bluewater Technology Access Centre (BTAC) (2013) following eight years as Dean at Lambton College, first as Dean, School of Technology, Applied Sciences and Apprenticeship, Fire School, Applied Research (2005), then as Dean of Applied Research and Innovation, Business Development and Sustainable Development (2007). Prior to her engagement at Lambton College, she was Vice-President Research Alliances at the National Capital Institute of Telecommunications (NCIT) in Ottawa. Maike obtained her Staatsexamen in Mathematics and Physics from the Technical University Carolo-Wilhelmina in Braunschweig, Germany (1979) and her Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Waterloo (1982). She spent a year at the University of Manitoba studying for a Master’s in Electrical Engineering. Maike is currently serving/has been serving on numerous Boards of Directors and Committees, including Nano Ontario, Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association (CHFCA), IEEE Canada, IEEE Canadian Foundation, Sarnia/Lambton Workforce Development Board; Bluewater Sustainability Initiative, Rotary Club of Sarnia; Southwestern Ontario Bio-Products Innovation Network (SOBIN), Sarnia/Lambton Chamber of Commerce, Unmanned Systems Canada, Ontario Centres of Excellence (OCE) Advanced Manufacturing Sector Advisory Board. She contributes frequently to the IEEE Canadian Review as Associate Editor and Editorial Focus Advisor, Technology. In addition to her academic career and volunteer activities Maike owns a technology consulting practice and has been engaged in the private sector for 15 years. Maike is a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada and a Senior Member of IEEE.

Marlys Koschinsky is the Scientific & Executive Director of the Robarts Research Institute, a Professor in the Department of Physiology & Pharmacology, and member of the Senior Leadership team of the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Western Ontario. Before joining Western, Dr. Koschinsky served as the Dean of the Faculty of Science and Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry at the University of Windsor from 2008-2015. Prior to that, she was a Professor of Biochemistry at Queen’s University and held the position of Director of the Queen’s University Cardiac & Circulatory Research Group from 2002-2008.

Murray MacDonald has over 40 years of experience in Design and Engineering Management with several multinational companies.  He holds B.Sc. and M.Sc. (EE) degrees from Queen’s University, is an active senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), and has recently achieved IEEE Life Member status.  Murray has been on the London IEEE Section executive (currently Past Chair), has been active with London Section's education outreach (TISP program), has assisted with IEEE conference organization, and is currently on the Region 7 executive as Central Area Chair.

Ana Luisa Trejos is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Western University and an Associate Scientist at Canadian Surgical Technologies and Advanced Robotics, Lawson Health Research Institute. She has expertise in the design, development and testing of medical mechatronic systems. Her research is focused towards evaluating how novel mechatronic devices can improve patient care during surgery, therapy and rehabilitation. This includes the development of smart devices for minimally invasive surgery and the design of wearable devices for the treatment of chronic pain. Another component of her research entails the development and evaluation of systems for surgical training and motor skills assessment.

  Date and Time




  • University of Western Ontario
  • London, Ontario
  • Canada
  • Building: Health Science Building
  • Room Number: 236

Staticmap?size=250x200&sensor=false&zoom=14&markers=61.0666922%2c 107
  • It is a joint event among: Women in EngineeringStudent Branch, Computer Society, Young ProfessionalsCommunication and Broadcast chapter and Power and Energy Society

  • Co-sponsored by Mahsa Bataghva
  • Starts 28 September 2018 09:00 AM
  • Ends 15 October 2018 02:00 PM
  • All times are Canada/Eastern
  • No Admission Charge
  • Register