Joint Annual Meeting IEEE Magnetic Society and IEEE Nanotechnology Council Chicago Chapters

#IEEE #Nanotechnology #Council #Magnetics #Society

Welcome to the 2nd Joint Annual Meeting of the IEEE Magnetics Society and IEEE Nanotechnology Council Chapters to be held virtually on Zoom on Monday, Nov. 23rd, 2020.

The meeting will convene local academics, professionals and students with broad interests in magnetics and nanotechnology. The meeting will provide a unique forum for highlighting the latest advances in magnetic materials, nanomagnetics, nanotechnology, and nanoelectronics. The meeting will also provide opportunities to facilitate networking and collaboration. There will be a student/postdoc poster session during the meeting with awards for best poster presentation. There are no Registration Fees, but registration is required. Two BEST POSTER prizes will be awarded.

Confirmed Speakers:

1) Mathias Klaui, Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz, Germany (IEEE Magnetics Distinguished Lecturer 2020)

2) Tim Mewes, University of Alabama, USA (IEEE Magnetics Distinguished Lecturer 2020)

3) Andrei Slavin, Oakland University

4) Chengkuo Lee, National University of Singapore (IEEE Nanotechnology Council Distinguished Lecturer 2020)

5) Oluwaseyi Balogun, Northwestern University (IEEE Nanotechnoology Council Distinguished Lecturer 2020)

6) Martin Holt, Argonne National Laboratory

7) Pallab Goswami, Northwestern University

8) Vinod Sangwan, Northwestern University

9) Hanu Arava, Argonne National Laboratory



All poster presenters should send a pdf copy of their poster to Yi Li ( by COB Friday, November 20th.

  Date and Time




  • Date: 23 Nov 2020
  • Time: 09:15 AM to 03:30 PM
  • All times are (GMT-06:00) US/Central
  • Add_To_Calendar_icon Add Event to Calendar
If you are not a robot, please complete the ReCAPTCHA to display virtual attendance info.
  • Chicago, Illinois
  • United States

  • Contact Event Hosts
  • Meeting Organizers:

    1. Charudatta Phatak (

    2. Pedram Khalili (

    3. Yuepeng Zhang (

    4. Yi Li (

    5. Vuk Brajuskovic (

  • Co-sponsored by IEEE Chicago
  • Starts 22 October 2020 08:00 AM
  • Ends 23 November 2020 10:00 PM
  • All times are (GMT-06:00) US/Central
  • No Admission Charge



9:15 – 9:30 am

C. Phatak/P. Khalili

Welcome and Introductory Remarks

9:30 – 10:00 am

Chengkuo Lee (IEEE DL), National University of Singapore

“Toward 5G based AI + IoT (AIoT) Society Enabled by NanoEnergy-NanoSystem (NENS) Technology”

10:00 – 10:30 am

Mathias Kläui (IEEE DL), University of Mainz

“Antiferromagnetic Insulatronics: Spintronics without magnetic fields and moving electrons”

10:30- 11:00 am

Carmen Lilley, University of Illinois at Chicago


11:00 – 11:30 pm

Oluwaseyi Balogun (IEEE DL), Northwestern University

“Thermal Characterization of Thin Films using the Thermoreflectance and Optothermal Raman Thermometry Techniques”

11:30 – 12:00 pm

Pallab Goswami, Northwestern University

“Band topology of magnetic materials beyond anomalous quantum Hall effect”

12:00 – 1:00 pm

Lunch break & poster session*

1:00 – 1:30 pm

Tim Mewes (IEEE DL), University of Alabama

“Magnetization Dynamics and Damping”

1:30 – 2:00 pm

Andrei Slavin, Oakland University

“Current-induced THz-frequency magnetization dynamics in antiferromagnetic crystals”

2:00 – 2:30 pm

Martin Holt, Argonne National Laboratory

“Nanoscale structural and magnetic imaging through hard X-ray Bragg diffraction microscopy”

2:30 – 3:00 pm

Vinod Sangwan, Northwestern University

“Atomically Thin Memtransistors and Heterojunctions for Artificial Synapses and Neuron”

3:00 – 3:30 pm

Hanu Arava, Northwestern University

“Artificial Spin Ice Inspired Computation Using Nanomagnets”

*Poster section:

**Each talk is 25 mins + 5 mins Q&A.


Meeting Agenda 323.16 KiB