IEEE Dayton Section Virtual WIE/YP Seminar and Annual Awards

#awards #professional #development

Dr. Cassie Barlow will deliver a keynote address to kick off our 2021 Awards Ceremony sponsored by our WIE/YP Affinity Group. During the event, we will honor Dayton Section award winners for the Harold V. Noble Award, Ravi Pallerla Memorial Award for Young Professionals, and Women In Engineering (WIE) Award. Additionally, we will also honor the recipient of the Krishna M. Pasala, Ph.D. Memorial Scholarship and the Outstanding Students for each of the local student chapters. 

  Date and Time




  • Date: 27 May 2021
  • Time: 11:00 AM to 01:00 PM
  • All times are (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)
  • Add_To_Calendar_icon Add Event to Calendar

IEEE Dayton Section Awards/WIE/YP Event
When Thu May 27, 2021 11am – 12:45pm Eastern Time - New York
Joining info Join with Google Meet

Join by phone
(US) +1 319-553-6535 (PIN: 639000263)

  • Contact Event Host
  • Starts 19 April 2021 12:00 AM
  • Ends 27 May 2021 11:55 PM
  • All times are (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)
  • No Admission Charge


Dr. Cassie Barlow

Abstract: Dr. Cassie B. Barlow is the President of the Southwestern Ohio Council for Higher Education (SOCHE).  Through SOCHE’s multiple programs, Dr. Barlow focused on collaboration among SOCHE’s 23 College and University members as well as professional development of faculty, staff and workforce needs of the almost 200,000 students at the regional institutions. 

Bio: Dr. Barlow was commissioned in 1988 as a distinguished graduate of Georgetown University, Washington, DC. Following graduation, she was assigned to her first of 13 assignments spanning the world. 

Dr. Barlow earned a Bachelor of Psychology degree from Georgetown University, Washington, DC; Master of Clinical Psychology degree from Chapman University, Orange County, CA; and a Ph.D. from Rice University, Houston, TX. She also earned Master’s degrees in Military Operational Art and Science, Air Command and Staff College, Air University, Maxwell AFB, AL, and in National Security, Industrial College of the Armed Forces, Washington, DC.


Dr. Barlow is familiar with leading multiple activities. She was the 88th Air Base Wing and Installation Commander, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base (AFB), OH. In that role, she commanded one of the largest air base wings in the Air Force with more than 5,000 Air Force military, civilian, and contractor direct report employees. Dr. Barlow retired from active duty with the US Air Force as a Colonel in 2014.


11:00 am – 11:10 am: Check-in – Prof. Guru Subramanyam
11:10 am – 11:20 am: Welcome & section News - Dr. Charles Cerny/Ms. Brooke Hayden
11:20 am – 12:00 pm: Keynote Talk - Dr. Cassie Barlow
12:00 pm – 12:45 pm: Awards & Recognition – Dr. Steve Hary, Dr. Guru Subramanyam, Dr. John Malas        

Harrell V. Noble Award - Dr. Vamsy Chodavarapu
Fritz J. Russ Award – Dr. Barath Narayanan
WIE Award - Dr. Linda Moore
Ravi Pallerla YP Award - Tam Nguyen
Krishna M. Pasala, Ph.D. Memorial Scholarship - Kaushik Annam
Outstanding Students - IEEE Student Chapters

12:45 pm – 12:50 pm: Closing Remarks – Dr. Charles Cerny