#awards #banquet #crest #hollow

IEEE is the world's largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. With over 1600 engineering professionals, the IEEE Long Island Section is the largest engineering society on Long Island.

IEEE members from a wide range of industries and academia work tirelessly to further the advancement of technology, making Long Island the center of innovation. The IEEE Long Island Section Awards Banquet will recognize outstanding Long Islanders who have made significant engineering contributions at both the Section level and the Regional (Northeastern USA) level.

The IEEE Long Island Section is proud of its collaboration with many premier companies and organizations on Long Island, many of which participate in this grand affair each year. The Awards Banquet is a unique opportunity for companies and organizations to showcase their local presence and support for the best and brightest in the industry.

Please join us at the 2022 IEEE Long Island Section Annual Awards Banquet in recognizing the achievements of our members and their contributions to the profession and the IEEE Long Island Section. Let us hope that this celebration is the start of a return to normalcy for all of us.

  Date and Time




  • Date: 31 Mar 2022
  • Time: 06:30 PM to 10:30 PM
  • All times are (GMT-05:00) US/Eastern
  • Add_To_Calendar_icon Add Event to Calendar
If you are not a robot, please complete the ReCAPTCHA to display virtual attendance info.
  • 8325 Jericho Turnpike
  • Woodbury, New York
  • United States 11797
  • Building: Crest Hollow Country Club
  • Click here for Map

  • Contact Event Host
  • Starts 13 September 2021 01:00 PM
  • Ends 29 March 2022 01:00 PM
  • All times are (GMT-05:00) US/Eastern
  • Admission fee ?


Michiko Minty Michiko Minty of Brookhaven National Laboratory


America's Next Particle Collider

The BNL Electron-Ion Collider will maintain U.S. leadership in nuclear physics and accelerator science—fields that are crucial to our technological, economic, and national security—and train the next generation of experts in these fields. In addition, the technological advances already under development to make the EIC a reality—e.g., innovative accelerator, particle tracking, and data-management components—could have widespread impact on new approaches to cancer therapy, solving other “big data” challenges, and improving accelerator facilities for testing batteries, catalysts, and other energy-related materials.


Michiko Minty, Ph.D., is Associate Chair for Accelerators and Applications in the Collider-Accelerator Department at Brookhaven National Laboratory. Prior to joining Brookhaven Lab in 2008, Dr. Minty held appointments at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (1991-1999), working on the Stanford Linear Accelerator, the Stanford B-Factory and the Next Linear Collider, and at DESY in Germany (1999-2005), working on the world’s only electron-ion collider to date (HERA) and on R&D for the European X-ray Free Electron Laser (XFEL).

Dr. Minty served as chair of the American Physics Society’s Division of the Physics of Beams in 2019. She has taught at particle accelerator schools in the US, Europe and Russia and is co-author of the textbook “Measurement and Control of Charged Particle Beams”.


5:30 - 7:00 pm:

Arrival, Cocktail Hour and Networking 

7:00 - 8:00 pm:

Keynote Address and Presentation of Awards

  • Section Awards
    • Alex Gruenwald Award: Robert Di Fazio, Formerly of Interdigital
    • Harold Wheeler Award: Babak Beheshti, New York Institute of Technology
    • Jesse Taub Lifetime Achievement Award: Victor Zourides, Formerly of Northrop Grumman
    • Charles Hirsch Award: Pawell Janczykowski, Telephonics Corporation
    • Athanasios Papoulis Outstanding Educator Award: Wei Lin, Hofstra University
    • Outstanding Young Engineer Award: Peng Zhang, Stony Brook University
    • Outstanding Volunteer Award: Ron DeLuca, Brentronics
    • Outstanding Volunteer Award: Dave Mesecher, Northrop Grumman
    • Organization of the Year Award: IEEE Consultants Network of Long Island (LICN)
    • Velio Marsocci Outstanding Student Chapter Branch Award: Farmingdale State College

  • Region 1 Awards
    • Outstanding Support for the Mission of the IEEE (MGA, Region 1 and/or Section Award): John Schmidt, Eckoh
    • Technological Innovation (Academic) Award: Batu Chalise, New York Institute of Technology
    • Technological Innovation (Academic) Award: Matthew Eisaman, Stony Brook University
    • Technological Innovation (Industry or Government) Award: Roman Khazanovich, BAE Systems

8:00 - 9:00 pm:


9:00 - 9:30 pm:

Dessert and Closing Remarks