IEEE Stamm @EPFL: a tribute to 2022 IEEE Fourier Award and 2022 IEEE Flanagan Award recipients


The IEEE EPFL Student Branch kindly invites you to participate to a free November Stammtisch dedicated to honoring the awardees of the prestigious IEEE Fourier Award and IEEE Flanagan award both in person MED 2 1522 and on Zoom on 29th November 2021 at 18:00. We are very excited to have Prof. Ali H. Sayed and Prof. Hervé Bourlard presenting their awards and the significant contribution that led to it. We are looking forward to seeing you there!
Covid pass is mandatory for the in-person event. The event will be followed by an apero.

  Date and Time




  • Date: 29 Nov 2021
  • Time: 06:00 PM to 07:30 PM
  • All times are (UTC+01:00) Bern
  • Add_To_Calendar_icon Add Event to Calendar


  • Co-sponsored by IEEE Switzerland Life Member Activity Group


Dean and Professor Ali H. Sayed


Ali H. Sayed, who received the prestigious IEEE Fourier Award, is Dean of the School of Engineering at EPFL where he leads the Adaptive Systems laboratory. He has also served as Distinguished Professor and Chairman of Electrical Engineering at UCLA. He is recognized as a Highly Cited Researcher and is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE). He served as President of the IEEE Signal Processing Society during 2018 and 2019.

Professor Hervé Boulard


Hervé Bourlard, Professor at the School of Engineering and Director of the Idiap Research Institute jointly received the IEEE Flanagan Award with his colleague Prof. Nelson Morgan from the Berkeley University (USA). In collaboration with his American colleague, Professor Bourlard became renowned for his pioneering work for modelling speech signal thanks to the use of so-called hidden Markov models. Later, this work was developed thanks to the use of artificial intelligence, linear algebra or statistics. Resulting from about 40 years of collaboration with Professor Morgan, Professor Bourlard’s contributions represent over 400 scientific publications.


18:00 – 18:05 Opening Remarks - Michel Bron

18:05 – 18:25 2022 IEEE Fourier Award - Prof. Ali H. Sayed

18:25 – 18:30 Q & A Session

18:30 – 18:50 2022 IEEE Flangan Award - Prof. Hervé Bourlard

18:50 – 18:55 Q & A Session