5th Joint Annual Meeting, IEEE Magnetics Society and Nanotechnology Council Chicago Chapters

# #IEEE #Nanotechnology #Council #Magnetics #Society #WIE

Welcome to the 5th Joint Annual Meeting of the IEEE Magnetics Society and IEEE Nanotechnology Council Chicago Chapters, to be held in a hybrid form (in-person plus on Zoom) with in-person venue at Northwestern University on Friday, November 17, 2023. The meeting will provide free breakfast & lunch and face-to-face interaction with the best local Chicago reserachers in Magnetics and Nanotechnology!

The meeting will convene local and international academics, professionals and students with broad interests in magnetics and nanotechnology. The meeting will provide a forum for highlighting the latest advances in magnetism, spintronics, nanotechnology, and nanoelectronics, and will provide opportunities to facilitate networking and collaboration.

There are no Registration Fees, but registration is required. 

Zoom link for remote attendees:


Confirmed Speakers:

  • Ankit Shukla, UIUC
  • Yue Cao, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Zach David Hood, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Robert Klie, University of Illinois Chicago
  • Susan Kempinger, North Central college
  • Mahdi Hosseini, Northwestern University
  • Nivedita Arora, Northwestern University
  • Silvia Zorzetti, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
  • Susana Cardoso Freitas, INESC Microsystems & Nanotechnologies, Portugal (2023 IEEE Magnetic Society Distinguished Lecturer)
  • Xiangfeng Duan, UCLA (2023 IEEE Nanotechnology Council Distinguished Lecturer)
  • Youngjun Ahn, University of Michigan (2023 IEEE Chicago Early Career Award in Magnetics)
  • Peter Smith, Northwestern University (2023 IEEE Chicago Early Career Award in Nanotechnology)


Opening remarks 8:55am-9:00am
Session 1: Spintronics
Susana Cardoso Freitas (IEEE DL) INESC, Portugal 9:00am-9:25am
Susan Kempinger North Central College 9:25am-9:50am
Ankit Shukla UIUC 9:50am-10:15am
coffee break 10:15am-10:30am
Session 2: 2D Materials
Zach David Hood Argonne 10:30am-10:55am
Youngjun Ahn U Mich 10:55am-11:20am
Xianfeng Duan (IEEE DL) UCLA 11:20am-11:45am
WIS/WIE 12:15-12:55pm
Panelist: Yuepeng Zhang (Argonne),  Susan Kempinger (North Central College), Nivedita Arora (Northwestern U), Silvia Zorzetti (Fermi Lab), Zach Hood (Argonne)
Session 3: Nanomaterials and orders
Robert Klie UIC 1:15pm-1:40pm
Nivedita Arora Northwestern U 1:40pm-2:05pm
Yue Cao Argonne 2:05pm-2:30pm
coffee break 2:30pm-2:45pm
Session 4: Quantum information
Mahdi Hosseini  Northwestern U 2:45pm-3:10pm
Silvia Zorzetti  Fermi Lab 3:10pm-3:35pm

Additional Information about Sponsors of the event:

IEEE Magnetics Society (www.ieeemagnetics.org) focus is on all matters involved in the fundamental development, design, and application of magnetic devices, including magnetic materials and phenomena. The society sponsors numerous conferences throughout the year.

IEEE Nanotechnology Council (www.ieeenano.org) is a multi-disciplinary group whose purpose is to advance and coordinate work in the field of Nanotechnology carried out throughout the IEEE in scientific, literary and educational areas. The Council supports the theory, design, and development of nanotechnology and its scientific, engineering, and industrial applications.

IEEE Nanotechnology Council Young Professionals  (https://ieeenano.org/category/young-professionals) is a representative branch of the Young Professionals segment inside the IEEE Nanotechnology Council, with the mission of promoting young professionals for academic success and professional connections.

  Date and Time




  • Date: 17 Nov 2023
  • Time: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PM
  • All times are (UTC-06:00) Central Time (US & Canada)
  • Add_To_Calendar_icon Add Event to Calendar
If you are not a robot, please complete the ReCAPTCHA to display virtual attendance info.
  • 2205 Tech Drive
  • Evanston, Illinois
  • United States 60208
  • Building: O. T. Hogan Biological Sciences Building,
  • Room Number: Room 160
  • Click here for Map

  • Contact Event Hosts
  • Organizing Committee:

    1. Pedram Khalili, Northwestern

    2. Charudatta Phatak, Argonne 

    3. Yi Li,  Argonne 

    4. Vinod Sangwan, Northwestern

    5. Yuepeng Zhang, Argonne

    6. Pengxiang Zhang, Argonne

    7. Valentine Novosad, Argonne

  • Co-sponsored by IEEE Chicago NTC Council, IEEE YP NTC Council
  • Starts 05 September 2023 12:00 AM
  • Ends 17 November 2023 12:00 AM
  • All times are (UTC-06:00) Central Time (US & Canada)
  • No Admission Charge