The Impact of Energy Efficiency on Low Resource Environments

#IEEE #SIGHT #HTB #ICT4D #HumanitarianTechnologies #Supporting #Local #Communities #EnergyEfficiency
Share

The IEEE Humanitarian Technologies Board Ad Hoc Committee on SIGHT Best Practices is cooperating with a number of IEEE OUs including IEEE Bahrain Section SIGHT,  IEEE SSIT IST-Africa SIGHT, IEEE Philadelphia Section SIGHT, IEEE Karachi SIGHT, IEEE UK and Ireland SSIT Chapter and Region 8 Committee on Climate Change to organise this Lecture as part of a Series of Webinars. 

IEEE Members, SIGHT Members and SSIT Members as well as non-IEEE Members are invited to Register and participate. IEEE Members should include their IEEE Membership Number when registering.

This Webinar has been rescheduled to take place online at 12 noon Eastern Time / 5pm GMT+1 / 7pm Bahrain time on Thursday 13 July. Click here to convert to your local time

Registered participants will be provided with the link prior to the event. 

FOCUS

In recent years, there has been a growing recognition of the important role energy efficiency can play in addressing humanitarian challenges and improving the lives of vulnerable populations. This has led to increased efforts to promote energy efficiency solutions tailored to humanitarian settings' specific needs and contexts. In this seminar, we will explore how energy efficiency can improve humanitarian conditions and discuss some of the challenges and opportunities associated with implementing energy efficiency measures in these contexts. 



  Date and Time

  Location

  Hosts

  Registration



  • Date: 13 Jul 2023
  • Time: 12:00 PM to 01:00 PM
  • All times are (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)
  • Add_To_Calendar_icon Add Event to Calendar

This Lecture will take place online. Registered participants will be provided with the link prior to the event.

  • Contact Event Hosts
  • Co-sponsored by Region 8 Committee on Climate Change
  • Starts 21 March 2023 01:44 PM
  • Ends 13 July 2023 11:00 AM
  • All times are (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)
  • No Admission Charge


  Speakers

Dr Hanan M. Albuflasa

Biography:

Dr. Hanan M. Albuflasa is the head of the Department of Physics at the University of Bahrain. Dr. Albuflasa has a Ph.D. and an M.Sc in Renewable Energy from the Centre of Renewable Energy System Technologies, CREST, Loughborough University, UK. Dr. Albuflasa is Bahrain’s representative for the GCC Technical Standard Committee on Renewable Energy and Energy Storage Systems, a participating member and country representative of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) for TC 82 and TC 88. She is a senior IEEE member, IEEE SIGHT chair and REGION 8 Power and Energy Society Representative.





Agenda

12 noon - 12:40pm ET / 5pm - 5:40pm GMT+1 / 7pm - 7:40pm Bahrain Introduction and Presentation

12:40 - 1pm ET / 5:40pm - 6pm GMT+1/ 7:40 - 8pm Bahrain Discussion, Q&A